Are Snickers Gluten-Free?

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Wondering if Snickers are gluten-free? Get the scoop on which varieties are safe to eat, what to watch out for, and more!

different sizes of Snickers bars on a white background

Between Trick or Treating, back-to-back class parties, holiday celebrations, and baking sweet treats, candy season is coming! It’s a delicious time of year, though it can pose some extra challenges if you have food allergies or intolerances and still want to satisfy your sweet tooth.

If you follow a gluten-free diet for health reasons (like Celiac disease, wheat allergy, or gluten intolerance), it’s always important to be safe when choosing candy. Whether you’re stocking up on gluten-free candy for Halloween, baking a sweet treat, or simply satisfying a candy bar craving, we’ve got you covered today!

So, let’s talk about all things Snickers–which Snickers flavors & varieties are gluten-free (and which are NOT), the ingredient list, what to watch out for, some yummy recipes to try and more.

Let’s jump in! Here’s what you need to know about finding gluten-free Snickers bars…

three different sizes of Snickers candy bars

Short Answer: Is Snickers Gluten-Free?

  • Yes, Snickers bars are considered gluten-free, since they are not made with wheat or gluten-containing ingredients, but let’s take a deeper look to see if Snickers is safe for those with Celiac disease.

Is Snickers Safe For Celiac Disease?

Snickers is owned by Mars Wrigley, who does not submit their products for gluten-free certification for third-party testing. Snickers is therefore not certified gluten-free even though the original snickers bar does not contain any gluten ingredients.

Mars allergy policy on the Snickers website states that any potential allergens will be declared on the product packaging, so depending on the severity of your allergy and reactions, it would be up to your individual discretion. Several gluten-free advocacy groups and organizations, like Celiac.com and BeyondCeliac.com both include Snickers on their lists of safe candies.

Additionally, there are several varieties of Snickers available these days, along with several Snickers products, some of which contain gluten. To be safe, it’s a good idea to double-check the label before eating any Snickers product.

Looking For More Gluten-Free Tips? We want to help! Check out our articles about M&Ms, marshmallows, Oreos, graham crackers, corn flakes, sprinkles, and more

Snickers Ingredients List:

This fan-favorite candy bar has been around since 1930! It’s made with a creamy nougat base, topped with layers of crunchy peanuts, gooey caramel, and milk chocolate. YUM! Let’s take a look at the Snickers ingredients list:

  • Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Cocoa Butter, Chocolate, Skim Milk, Lactose, Milkfat, Soy Lecithin)
  • Roasted Peanuts
  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Palm Oil
  • Skim Milk
  • Lactose
  • Salt
  • Egg Whites
  • Artificial Flavor

Additionally, the allergy statement on the package says that it may contain: Peanuts, Milk, Egg, and Soy. This makes sense, given the main ingredients list!

different flavors of Snickers bars arranged on a white background

Which Kinds Of Snickers Are Gluten-Free?

This popular candy bar has more varieties than ever available in grocery stores, corner shops and concession stands. So which Snickers are gluten-free? The following flavors of Snickers contain no gluten ingredients (wheat, barley, or other gluten-containing ingredients) and do not have wheat in their allergen statement at the time of writing this:

  • Snickers (Original) Share Size, Full Size
  • Snickers 100 Calorie Bars
  • Snickers Fun Size Bars
  • Snickers Minis (Bite Size)
  • Snickers Almond – Share Size, Full Size, Fun Size
  • Snickers Almond Brownie Dark Chocolate – Share Size, Full Size, Fun Size Squares,
  • Snickers Crunchy Peanut Butter – Share Size, Single Size, Fun Size, Mini Size
  • Snickers Peanut Brownie – Share Size, Full Size, Fun Size Squares
  • Snickers White Chocolate – Share Size, Full Size

What To Watch Out For

As we stated above, most Snickers products are considered gluten-free, but there ARE a few exceptions to watch out for:

Snickers Products That Are NOT Gluten-Free

  • Snickers Hi Protein bars are NOT considered gluten-free. Mars states “Our formulas do not contain wheat, but we list it in the “may contain” list on the packaging because there is wheat processed in the facility where we manufacture these products. Please use your discretion on safe consumption if you have a wheat allergy.”
  • Snickers Ice Cream Bars are NOT considered gluten-free. While there are no gluten ingredients, the allergen information states “may contain wheat,” which indicates a risk for cross-contamination.
  • Snickers Ice Cream is NOT considered gluten-free. While there are no gluten ingredients, the allergen statement states “may contain wheat,” which indicates potential cross-contamination.

Other Things To Check

  • Seasonal Products. Additionally, seasonal or limited edition Snickers bars may be produced in different manufacturing facility, so it’s important to double-check the labels on your package for the most up-to-date allergy information.
  • Different Size Offerings. Some companies use different manufacturing process for limited edition or specialty sizes, which can increase the risk of cross-contamination. Always double-check your nutritional information to check for an allergy warning!
Snickers cut in half and stacked

FAQ + Tips And Tricks For Buying Gluten-Free Snickers

Are Seasonal Snickers Gluten Free? While the ingredients list is the same as regular Snickers chocolate bars, some seasonal products are produced in different manufacturing facilities and may contain gluten because of possible cross-contamination. Any seasonal product that might contain gluten will say so on the allergen label of the product packaging (i.e. “may contain wheat”)

Do Snickers Contain Tree Nuts? The original Snickers candy bar does not include tree nuts in its potential allergen list, though several other varieties of Snickers (such as Almond and Almond Brownie) DO contain an allergy warning for tree nuts.

Are Snickers Vegan? No. There are no vegan Snickers bars currently offered by Mars. They contain egg whites and dairy products.

The Bottom Line:

People with gluten intolerance can probably feel safe eating most Snickers candy bars. They are not certified gluten-free, but they contain no gluten ingredients and will disclose any potential allergens on their packaging.

Those with severe gluten sensitivity or Celiac disease may choose not to eat Snickers since they aren’t certified gluten-free. There are some Snickers products that are not gluten-free, so the best way to stay safe is to check the product label for an allergen statement to avoid cross contamination.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *