Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

This post may contain affiliate links. See our disclosure policy for more.

Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free? – Many marshmallows ARE gluten-free! We’ll tell you what to look for & which brands of marshmallows are gluten-free.

Front view of several bowls of gluten-free marshmallows in different sizes, flavors, and shapes

Back today with another quick gluten-free tip. This one’s all about MARSHMALLOWS.

You’ve got to love these gooey, fluffy, pillowy bites of sweet goodness! Whether you’re looking to make a batch of epic gluten-free Rice Krispies treats or some fun brownies, topping off a mug of hot chocolate, roasting up some gluten-free s’mores, or whipping up a fun pie or dessert, gluten-free marshmallows are a must!

The good news is-it’s REALLY easy to find gluten-free marshmallows & there are a lot of gluten-free marshmallow brands out there to try that are perfect for gluten intolerance and Celiac.

Here’s everything you need to know about gluten-free marshmallows…

Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free?

YES! Most commercially-made marshmallows in the United States are gluten-free, even if they’re not specifically labeled as such. (That goes for brand names & store brands!)

The basic ingredients in marshmallows are things like sugar, corn syrup, or tapioca syrup, modified cornstarch, and gelatin. Some brands add additional flavorings, stabilizers, or preservatives, but in most cases all of the ingredients in marshmallows are gluten-free.

That said, it’s REALLY important to check your packaging if you have celiac disease, wheat allergies, or gluten intolerance/sensitivity, since some brands can use malt syrup, wheat starch, or glucose syrup derived from wheat. Here’s what to look for…

Front view of gluten-free s'mores

How Can You Tell If Marshmallows Are Gluten-Free?

Some marshmallows are produced on equipment shared with other products that may contain gluten, so ideally, when you need gluten-free marshmallows, it’s important to read the packaging and label to be sure. Here are some ways to check if your marshmallows are gluten-free:

  • BEST = Clear labeling on the package that states “gluten-free” or “certified gluten-free.” These statements are regulated in the United States, and products must undergo testing to ensure there are less than 20 ppm of gluten. (ppm = parts per million) These are the safest options, as they’ve been tested. These are the best choice if you have celiac disease or wheat allergies.
  • GOOD = Contain no gluten ingredients & no “may contain” statement. (If a product says “may contain wheat” or “may contain gluten,” there may be some risk of cross contact or cross-contamination (such as with shared equipment or facilities in the manufacturing processes). These can work well for gluten sensitivity, provided there is no “may contain” statement.
  • RISKY = The marshmallows have a “may contain” statement. Under the ingredients list, some products will have a “may contain” statement (“may contain gluten” or “may contain wheat”) that discloses risk of cross contamination. If a product has a “may contain” statement, there is some risk of gluten in the marshmallows even if there are no gluten ingredients in the marshmallows themselves.
  • NOT GLUTEN-FREE = The product contains wheat, barley, malt, or gluten. This is most common in specialty flavored, coated, or dipped marshmallows.
Overhead view of several bowls of marshmallows in different shapes, sizes, and flavors

Which Brands Of Marshmallows Are Gluten-Free?

The great news is that in the U.S. many brands of marshmallows are naturally gluten-free. Again, you always want to double-check your packaging for a “gluten-free” designation or certification, but here are some great brands of gluten-free marshmallows:

Kraft Jet-Puffed

Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows are considered gluten-free. Probably the popular brand of marshmallows in the U.S! While they’re not certified gluten-free, Kraft always discloses “may contain” statements when products are made on shared equipment. Their Jet-Puffed marshmallows do not contain any wheat or gluten ingredients and do not have a “may contain” statement. We’ve used their mini marshmallows and regular/large marshmallows without any adverse reactions.

Campfire Brand & Stay Puft Marshmallows

Campfire Brand & Stay Puft Marshmallows marshmallows are gluten-free! Their Stay Puft & Campfire marshmallows (including their giant s’mores marshmallows & fruity marshmallows) are gluten-free. All their gluten-free marshmallows are clearly labeled, which makes them easy to identify. Do note that they sell specialty dipped/coated s’more marshmallow pops that are NOT gluten-free). I love that these are allergen-friendly & dye-free!

Peeps Marshmallows

PEEPS Marshmallows are gluten-free. Most varieties are gluten-free, including many seasonal and specialty flavors. Just be sure to check the packaging! All gluten-free Peeps are clearly marked.


SMASHMALLOW marshmallows are gluten-free. These Smashmallow marshmallows come in all kinds of fancy flavors & varieties. All are gluten-free, including their dipped marshmallows and seasonal flavors. They also use natural ingredients & organic cane sugar, which can be a great choice. They have a more homemade texture than other brands, but are especially fun in hot chocolate & s’mores.

Dandies Marshmallows (Vegan)

DANDIES marshmallows are gluten-free, gelatin-free & vegan! They’re my go-to for gluten-free vegan treats.

Good & Gather Marshmallows

GOOD & GATHER marshmallows are gluten-free. Target’s store brand Good & Gather marshmallows are certified gluten-free & come in large and mini sizes. They’re super affordable & all the bags I’ve bought have been extra soft!

Great Value Marshmallows

GREAT VALUEWalmart’s store brand marshmallows are considered gluten-free according to their website. They contain no gluten ingredients & while they aren’t certified gluten-free do not have a “may contain” statement.

Sprouts Marshmallows

SPROUTS – Sprouts’ store brand marshmallows are certified gluten-free! They’re super affordable & work great for baking!

Trader Joe’s Marshmallows (Vegan)

TRADER JOE’S marshmallows are gluten-free, vegan, and kosher! They work great for rice krispies treats, brownies, cookies, etc. They are often only carried seasonally (in summer for s’mores or at the holidays for hot cocoa), so they’re not always available. But they’re great when you can find them!

Hammond’s Marshmallows

HAMMOND’s marshmallows are gluten-free! These have a bit of an upscale feel (& price tag!) to them, which can be fun if you’re doing a s’mores bar or hot chocolate bar. Their packages are clearly labeled when gluten-free, which makes identifying safe choices easy. Try their fun flavors, like vanilla bean, toasted coconut, chocolate chip, birthday cake, etc.!

Front view of three brands of gluten-free marshmallow fluff/marshmallow creme

Is Marshmallow Fluff Gluten-Free?

Now that you’ve got some great brands of gluten-free marshmallows to choose from, you may be wondering about gluten-free marshmallow fluff and marshmallow creme? Are marshmallow creme and marshmallow fluff gluten-free? Mostly, yes! Here are a few gluten-free marshmallow fluff brands to try:

  • Jet-Puffed Marshmallow CremeThis brand doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients & doesn’t have a “may contain” statement.
  • Fluff Brand. Famous for making the Fluffernutter sandwich (marshmallow fluff & peanut butter!), Fluff brand marshmallow creme is gluten-free! According to their site, all flavors of Fluff are gluten-free.
  • Toonie Moonie Brand. We get this from Whole Foods and it’s got great flavor! Toonie Moonie organic marshmallow creme is kosher, gluten-free, dairy-free & lower in sugar than some other brands. It also avoids additives, dyes, and corn syrup. It does use egg whites, so keep that in mind if you have egg allergies.

FAQ: Gluten-Free Marshmallows

What Are The Best Gluten-Free Marshmallows?

  • Best Vegan Gluten-Free Marshmallows = Dandies (or Trader Joe’s, when you can find them!)
  • Best Gluten-Free Marshmallows for s’mores = Campfire, Jet-Puffed & Good & Gather for classic s’mores. Smashmallow for fun flavored s’mores or a build-your-own s’mores bar.
  • Best Flavored Marshmallows = Smashmallow (I like the churro ones best!)
  • Best Gluten-Free Marshmallows For Rice Krispies Treats = Most brands! We use Jet-Puffed, Good & Gather, Campfire brand marshmallows most often when making crispy treats. (Make sure you also use gluten-free crisp rice cereal!)

Are Marshmallows Vegan? Many (most) brands of marshmallows contain gelatin, which is animal-derived. One great vegan brand of marshmallows is Dandies. They take a bit longer to melt, but they have great flavor and offer fun seasonal varieties, like peppermint & pumpkin! (I get them at Sprouts, Whole Foods or Amazon.) Another option is Trader Joe’s, but they aren’t always available. Marshmallow fluff usually contains egg whites, and is not vegan.

Are Marshmallows Dairy-Free? Yes! Most marshmallows are gluten-free and dairy-free, unless they’re dipped, coated, or flavored with something containing dairy (like caramel or chocolate). Even though they don’t have dairy, most marshmallows are NOT vegan, as they contain gelatin, which is animal-derived.

Can You Make Gluten-Free Marshmallows? Yes! They have a softer, more spongy texture than store-bought marshmallows, but they’re especially excellent for hot chocolate, s’mores & decorating cakes and cupcakes. Try these classic vanilla marshmallows, these chocolate marshmallows, or these peppermint marshmallows!

WE ♥

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *