| |

Are Corn flakes Gluten-Free? (These Brands Are!)

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Are Corn Flakes Gluten-Free? – Kellogg’s corn flakes are NOT, but these brands ARE! Here’s which brands of corn flakes are gluten-free & where to find them.

Overhead view of a white bowl of gluten free corn flakes

If you’re new to a gluten-free diet, navigating the world of gluten-free foods can be a bit overwhelming at first. (Sometimes it feels like EVERY cereal is made with wheat, rye, barley or other gluten-containing grains!)

Thankfully, there are more gluten-free cereal options than ever, and it’s often simply a matter of reading labels and finding the right brands to buy. We’ve already covered gluten-free crisp rice cereal (gluten-free Rice Krispies), and today we’re talking all about gluten-free corn flakes.

We’ll tell you which brands are gluten-free, what they cost, where to find them, and which gluten-free corn flakes taste the best. (Because friends don’t let friends eat boring cereal)

Whether you’re looking for new gluten-free breakfast cereals or looking for an option to cook or bake with, here’s everything you need to know about gluten free cornflakes…

Overhead view of a white bowl of gluten free corn flakes

Are Cornflakes Gluten-Free?

Kellogg’s corn flakes are NOT gluten-free in the United States. They’re made with malt syrup or malt extract, which is derived from barley and contains gluten. Many generic brands and store brands of corn flakes also contain malt syrup, malt flavoring, or malt extract and are NOT gluten-free.

That said, there ARE some great gluten-free corn flakes on the market! Let’s take a look…

What Brands Of Corn Flakes Are Gluten-Free?

Now that we know which brands are NOT gluten-free (Kellogg’s, and many store brands), which brands of corn flakes ARE gluten-free?

  • Barbara’s Corn Flakes
  • Nature’s Path Honey’d Corn Flakes
  • Nature’s Path Fruit Sweetened Corn Flakes
  • Whole Foods 365 Organic Corn Flakes

Let’s take a closer look at each brand. We’ll tell you what they cost, where to find them, and what we thought in a taste test (so you don’t waste your money!).

WE ♥

Overhead view of a box of Barbara's corn flakes

Barbara’s Corn Flakes (Our Favorite)

  • PRICE: $5-6
  • WHERE TO BUY: Sprouts, Kroger, Natural Grocers, Vitacost, Amazon

Just like in our Gluten-Free Crisp Rice Cereal Post, Barbara’s comes through again as a winner. Barbara’s gluten free corn flakes cereal is certified organic, vegan, kosher, and gluten-free, made with simple ingredients (no synthetic vitamins, minerals, colors, or flavors), and has a light, crisp texture most like traditional corn flakes.

If you’re looking for the lightest, crispiest, traditional gluten free corn flakes out there, Barbara’s are the brand for you! They work well as cereal, and can also be used in corn flake coating (for things like chicken, casseroles, etc.), and work well in baking projects. They’re worth looking for at your local grocery store!

Overhead view of a box of Nature's Path Honey'd Corn Flakes

Nature’s Path Honey’d Corn Flakes

If you’re looking for naturally sweetened corn flakes, Nature’s Path corn flakes are the brand for you! They carry two varieties of gluten-free corn flakes. Their Honey’d Corn Flakes are sweetened with (you guessed it!) honey.

I love that Nature’s Path is organic, non-GMO, and certified gluten-free. I do find their corn flakes to be thicker in texture, with more bite than traditional corn flakes, so while they work as cereal, the honey flakes are not my first choice for baking projects.

Overhead view of a box of Nature's Path Fruit Juice Cornflakes

Nature’s Path juice Corn Flakes

Next up is Nature’s Path’s even more naturally sweetened corn flakes–sweetened with fruit juice! Like the Honey’d corn flakes, the juice-sweetened corn flakes are a bit thicker in texture. They’re subtly sweet (thanks to the pear juice concentrate) and vegan, which is great if you’re watching your sugar or have other dietary restrictions.

Overhead view of Whole Foods 365 corn flakes

Whole Foods 365 Corn Flakes

Whole Foods 365 brand corn flakes are not certified gluten-free, but they are made with only organic milled corn, organic cane sugar, and sea salt. and their packaging does not have a “may contain” statement that would indicate a cross-contamination risk. Because they’re not officially certified GF, these are the least reliable option if you have a severe wheat allergy or Celiac disease, but may be a good option if you are having trouble finding the others and you are gluten intolerant.

FAQ: Gluten-Free Corn Flakes

What Are The Best Gluten-Free Cornflakes? In our opinion, Barbara’s! They have the lightest, crispest texture and flavor most like traditional corn flakes. (We used to love Erewhon’s before they were discontinued.)

Are Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Gluten-Free? NO. Not in the United States. In the U.S., Kellogg’s corn flakes (and several of their other flake cereals like Special K and Frosted Flakes) are made with malt, which contains gluten. Kellogg’s corn flakes are NOT safe for anyone with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance. (FYI: Outside the US, Kellogg’s does carry a gluten-free option in some countries)

Are All Corn Flakes Gluten-Free? NO. You’d think they would be since they’re made of corn, but most brands of corn flakes contain malt syrup or malt extract, which contain gluten. You must buy gluten-free cornflakes if you have Celiac or gluten intolerance. (Look for that gluten-free label!)

Does Anyone Make Gluten-Free Corn Flakes! Yes! Check out our list of gluten-free corn flakes brands above! Barbara’s are our favorite, but there are several good ones to choose from!

What Other Cereals Are Gluten-Free? Too many to list, but most brands of Chex (other than Wheat Chex) are great options (Chocolate Chex, Cinnamon Chex, Rice Chex, Corn Chex, Vanilla Chex, etc.). Many varieties of Cheerios are gluten-free (check the labels!), and several brands carry gluten-free granola or certified gluten-free oats. Lucky Charms, Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles are also gluten-free!

What Gluten-Free Tip Would You Like To See Next?

gluten-free corn flake treats to try:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    1. Hi! I haven’t seen any Sprouts brand corn flakes at my local stores or online, but many of the brands I mentioned are carried at Sprouts! (Nature’s Path & Barbara’s, for instance).

      I don’t live by a GreenWise, so I can’t check in person, but from what I can see online, the only ingredients in the GreenWise Organic Corn Flakes cereal are organic corn, organic cane sugar, and sea salt. I don’t see a gluten-free certification on the box specifically, but I also don’t see a “may contain gluten” or “may contain wheat” statement on their packaging. If you have Celiac, it’s probably worth using a certified gluten-free brand to avoid getting sick. If you’re gluten intolerant, you’ll have to decide what your level of comfort is without the certification. Wishing you luck!