Are Butterfingers Gluten-Free?

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Are Butterfingers gluten-free? Get the scoop on which varieties are safe to eat, what to watch out for, and more!

different sizes of Butterfinger candy bars on a white background

Are you a Butterfinger fan? I totally am! This “crispety, crunchety peanut-buttery” candy bar has been popular since it was invented in 1923. That’s 100+ years of Butterfinger love!

Even as a kid, I loved the crunchy texture and peanut butter flavor of this delicious candy bar, so when we went gluten free a decade ago, I had to make sure they were still safe to eat! 

If you follow a gluten-free diet for health reasons (like Celiac disease, wheat allergy, or gluten intolerance), it’s always important to be safe when choosing candy. Whether you’re stocking up on gluten-free candy for Halloween, baking a sweet treat, or simply satisfying a candy bar craving, we’ve got you covered today!

We’re talking about all things Butterfinger–which butterfinger flavors & varieties are gluten-free (and which are NOT), the ingredient list, what to watch out for, some yummy recipes to try and more.

Let’s jump in! Here’s what you need to know about finding gluten-free Butterfinger bars…

different sizes of Butterfinger candy bars on a white background

Short Answer: Is Butterfinger Gluten-Free?

  • Yes! Butterfinger candy bars are labeled gluten-free and contain no gluten ingredients.

Ferrero/The Ferrara Candy Company (Butterfinger’s parent company) also states in their FAQ that almost all Butterfinger products are gluten-free other than Butterfinger Crisp and some seasonal varieties.

Looking For More Gluten-Free Tips? We want to help! Check out our articles about M&Ms, Snickers, marshmallows, Oreos, graham crackers, corn flakes, sprinkles, and more

Butterfinger Ingredients List:

So, now that we know there is no gluten in the main ingredients, what exactly IS in a butterfinger? Let’s take a look at the gluten-free ingredients list:

  • Corn Syrup,
  • Sugar
  • Peanuts
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm Kernel And Palm Oil)
  • Peanut Flour
  • Nonfat Milk
  • Less Than 2% of Cocoa, Milk, Salt, Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavors, and Annatto Color.

Additionally, the allergy statement on the nutrition label of the package says that it may contain: Milk, Peanut, and Soy (which makes sense, given the ingredient list!).

three sizes of Butterfinger candy bars on a white background

Which Kinds Of Butterfinger Are Gluten-Free?

Ferrero (Butterfinger’s parent company) also states in their FAQ that almost all Butterfinger products are gluten-free. The varieties of gluten-free Butterfinger include the following products:

  • Butterfinger (original Butterfinger bar)
  • Butterfinger Share Pack
  • Butterfinger Fun Size
  • Butterfinger Minis
  • Butterfinger Unwrapped Minis
  • Butterfinger Bites
  • Butterfinger Baking Bits
  • Butterfinger Dessert Toppers

What To Watch Out For

As we stated above, *almost* all Butterfinger products are gluten-free. However, there are two exceptions to watch out for:

  • Butterfinger Crisp Bars are NOT gluten-free, and contain wheat flour.
  • Some Seasonal Butterfinger Shapes. While these bars don’t contain any wheat or gluten ingredients, some seasonal shapes (like their Halloween Skulls, for instance) are manufactured differently, which puts them at risk for cross-contamination. These products will disclose any potential allergens in the allergen statement. (Such as: “May Contain: Milk, Peanut, Soy. May Contain Tree Nuts, Wheat.”)
a butterfinger candy bar cut in half and stacked

FAQ + Tips And Tricks For Gluten-Free Butterfinger

Are Butterfinger Safe For Celiac? Butterfingers are considered safe for celiac disease and gluten intolerance, as they do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients, they are labeled gluten-free. They are regularly included on lists of gluten-free candy by Celiac.org and other similar organizations. The one exception is Butterfinger Crisp bars, which are NOT gluten-free or safe for Celiac disease.

Are Butterfinger Bits Gluten-Free? YES! They contain the same ingredients as traditional Butterfinger candy bars, are labeled gluten-free, and work great for baking projects!

Are Seasonal Butterfinger Gluten-Free? While the ingredients list is the same as regular Butterfinger, some seasonal products are produced in different manufacturing facilities and may contain gluten because of cross contamination. Any seasonal product that might contain gluten will say so on the allergen label of the product packaging (i.e. “may contain wheat”)

Was Butterfinger Reformulated? Butterfinger has been owned & produced by various companies over the years, but when Ferrero bought Butterfinger from Nestle in 2018, they updated the formulation from the original recipe to remove all hydrogenated oils and TBHQ (a preservative). Ferrero also made the switch to source high-quality peanuts & Utz-certified cocoa powder.

Butterfinger candy bars on a white background

The Bottom Line:

People with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance can feel safe eating most Butterfinger candy bars, other than Butterfinger crisp bars and some seasonal varieties that may be produced in a different manufacturing facility. Butterfinger bars are labeled gluten-free, contain no gluten ingredients and disclose any potential allergens on their packaging, which makes it easy to tell which varieties may contain wheat or gluten.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *