Are Rolos Gluten-Free?

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy.

Wondering if Rolos are gluten-free? Get the scoop on which varieties are safe to eat, what to watch out for, and more!

two packages of rolos on a white background with more rolo candy

With the holidays approaching, it feels like candy season is just around the corner!

We’ve already covered M&Ms, Snickers, Butterfinger, and more, but today, let’s talk about Rolo! This classic chocolate caramel candy is a long-time favorite in Halloween candy bowls and Christmas stockings, but also often makes an appearance at the holidays in all kinds of delicious treats (like cookies and pretzel delights!)

If you follow a gluten-free diet for health reasons (like Celiac disease, wheat allergy, or gluten intolerance), it’s always important to be safe when choosing candy. Whether you’re stocking up on gluten-free candy for Halloween, baking a sweet treat, or indulging your sweet tooth for movie night, we’ve got you covered today!

From which Rolos are gluten-free, to the ingredients list, and what to watch out for, we’ve got everything you need to know about buying gluten-free rolo caramels…

two packages of rolos on a white background with more rolo candy

Short Answer: Is Rolo Gluten-Free?

  • Yes! Rolo is labeled gluten-free and contain no gluten ingredients.

The Hershey Company (Rolos’ parent company), lists Rolo in its filtered list of gluten-free candies and discloses any potential allergens on their packaging. Their website states “Yes, ROLO® candies are gluten free and do not contain wheat, barley, oats, rye or any added gluten.”

Hershey’s company’s full gluten-free allergen criteria are:

“Gluten-free foods must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) gluten. Foods may be labeled “gluten-free” if they are inherently gluten free; or do not contain an ingredient that is: 1) a gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt wheat); 2) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour); or 3) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch), if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more gluten in the food. Also, any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food must be less than 20 ppm.”

Looking For More Gluten-Free Tips? We want to help! Check out our articles about M&Ms, Snickers, Butterfinger, marshmallows, Oreos, graham crackers, corn flakes, sprinkles, and more

Hershey’s Rolos Ingredients List:

So, now that we know there is no gluten in the main ingredients, what exactly IS in Rolo candy? Let’s take a look at the gluten-free ingredients list for the U.S. version of this candy:

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Skim Milk
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm Oil, Shea Oil, Sunflower Oil, Palm Kernel Oil, Safflower Oil)
  • Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Palm Kernel Oil, Soybean Oil)
  • Chocolate
  • Contains Less than 2% of Lactose, Salt, Lecithin, PGPR (an emulsifier), Vanillin, Baking Soda

Additionally, the allergy statement on the nutrition label of the package says that it may contain: Soy and Milk (which makes sense, given the ingredient list!).

Other versions (such as Rolo minis, those in the United Kingdom, and those outside the United States) will vary.

Which Kinds Of Rolo Are Gluten-Free?

Hershey includes the following Rolo candies in their gluten-free list:

  • Milk Chocolate Rolo (Original Rolo)
  • Rolo Unwrapped
  • Dark Chocolate Salted Caramel Rolo
  • Seasonal Varieties of Rolo–Halloween, Christmas, Stocking Stuffer, Valentine’s, and Easter

What To Watch Out For

As we stated above, Rolo does not contain any gluten ingredients and Hershey’s website includes them in their list of gluten-free candy. One reminder is to check packaging for seasonal Rolo caramels to be sure they don’t contain any potential allergens. Some companies use different manufacturing facility for seasonal products, so it’s always a good idea to read the product labels to be sure before purchasing or eating to avoid the risk of cross-contamination.

two packages of rolos on a white background with more rolo candy

FAQ + Tips And Tricks For Gluten-Free Rolos

Are Rolos Celiac Safe? Rolo is considered safe for celiac disease and gluten intolerance, as they do not contain any gluten-containing ingredients, they are labeled gluten-free. They are regularly included on lists of gluten-free candy by and other similar organizations.

Are Christmas Rolos Gluten-Free? Yes. At the time of this writing, they are included in Hershey’s list of gluten-free candy and are labeled gluten-free on the packaging.

Are Seasonal Rolos Gluten Free? At the time of this writing, all seasonal varieties of Rolo available were labeled gluten-free on the packaging. As always, double-check your package before eating, as some companies use different manufacturers for seasonal products.

Are Rolo Pretzel Bites Gluten-Free? ONLY if you make them with gluten-free pretzels!

Are Rolo Colliders Gluten-Free? This pudding dessert is NOT considered gluten-free.

packages of rolos on a cream background

The Bottom Line:

In the United States, people with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance can feel safe eating Rolos. They are labeled gluten-free, contain no gluten ingredients and disclose any potential allergens on their packaging, which makes it easy to tell which varieties may contain wheat or gluten. Always double check your seasonal and limited edition variety packages to make sure they are gluten-free.

Feel free to stock your favorite candy dish with these delicious chocolate caramel candies!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *